Connect with us

World Cinema

Cannes 2023 Winners Complete List: ‘Anatomy of a Fall’ Wins Palme d’Or

The winners of the 76th Cannes Film Festival 2023 were announced on Saturday.





Cannes 2023 Winners take the stage for a photocall. (Image: Twitter/Festival_Cannes)
Cannes 2023 Winners take the stage for a photocall. (Image: Twitter/Festival_Cannes)

THE winners of the 76th Festival de Cannes, popularly known as the Cannes Film Festival were announced on Saturday. Known as the biggest and most popular film festival in the world, the festival concluded this weekend after 12 days.

French filmmaker Justine Triet won the top prize, the Palme d’Or for her film, Anatomy of a Fall. The director became only the third woman filmmaker in the history of Cannes Film Festival to win the prize. German period-drama film Zone of Interest bagged the second top prize, The Grand Prix.

Veteran Hollywood star Jane Fonda, who presented the Palme d’Or, reflected on seven women filmmakers in contention for the top prize. There were no women directors competing at that time and it never even occurred to us that there was something wrong with that. We have come a long way, the actor said.

The best actor award went to Kōji Yakusho for the film Perfect Days, while Turkish actor Merve Dizdar took the audience by surprise by winning the Best Actress for her film, About Dry Grasses.

Take a look at the complete list of winners of Cannes 2023:


Palme d’Or: Anatomy of a Fall, Justine Triet

Grand Prix: The Zone of Interest, Jonathan Glazer

Director: Tran Anh Hung for The Pot au Feu

Actor: Kōji Yakusho for Perfect Days

Actress: Merve Dizdar for About Dry Grasses

Jury Prize: Aki Kaurismaki for Fallen Leaves 

Screenplay: Sakamoto Yûji for Monster

Other Prizes

Camera d’Or: Thien An Pham for Inside the Yellow Cocoon Shell

Short Film Palme d’Or: Flóra Anna Buda for 27

Short Films Special Mention: Gunnur Martinsdóttir Schlüter for Fár

Queer Palm: Monster

Un Certain Regard

Un Certain Regard Award: Molly Manning Walker for How to Have Sex

Jury Prize: Kamal Lazraq for Hounds

Best Director Prize: Asmae El Moudir for The Mother of All Lies

Freedom Prize: Mohamed Kordofani for Goodbye Julia

Ensemble Prize: João Salaviza, Renée Nader Messora, cast and crew for The Buriti Flower

New Voice Prize: Baloji for Omen

Directors’ Fortnight

Europa Cinemas Label: Elena Martín for Creatura

Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers Prize: Pierre Creton for A Prince

Critics’ Week

Grand Prize: Amanda Nell Eu for Tiger Stripes

French Touch Prize: Paloma Sermon-Daï for It’s raining in the house

GAN Foundation Award for Distribution: Pyramide Films for Inshallah a boy

Louis Roederer Foundation Rising Star Award: Jovan Ginić for Lost Country

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *